Queensland Heat and Patriots are Queensland’s Premier Women and Men’s Softball teams. Competing from the commencement of Gilley’s Shield in 1947 and John Reid Shield in 1984. They are the pride of Queensland Softball.

Both teams consist of players that have been selected from all around Queensland. The players are selected at the Open State Championships by various selectors. The Queensland Heat squad is announced in September, while the Queensland Patriots team is announced in October.

Get to know your team history and players, learn about Queensland Softball’s past and the awards we have won.

Current Teams

QLD Patriots team 2017

QLD Heat Team 2017

Heat_white logo-FBHeat Squad 2016/2017

Patriots Squad 2016/2017


QLD Heat Team History

QLD Patriots Team HistoryQueensland Patriots

Softball Queensland

SQI Hall of Fame Inductees

Open Female Player Numbers

Open Men Player Numbers

Edebone-Weber Shield and Gilley’s Shield

National Champions

Midge Nelson Medal (Most Valuable Player)

Lorraine Woolley Medal (Best Pitcher)

Sybil Turner Medal (Best Batter)

Rosemary Adey Medal (Rookie of the Year)

Player of the Final

John Reid Shield

National Champions

Most Valuable Player

Best Pitcher

Best Batter

Rookie of the Year

Player of the Final

Photo Gallery